History of Department

The history of department of anaesthesia at kakinada dates back to the time period of 1958, when The Government Hospital At Kakinada was a District Hospital, when it was managed by an Assistant Surgeon who is not a qualified anaesthetist.

With the starting of RANGARAYA MEDICAL COLLEGE in 1958 the Government District Head Quarters Hospital has been upgraded as a General Hospital in 1959 to serve as Teaching Hospital. The first known Head Of The Department was DR.JAMES PAUL, in 1962, later in 1965 DR.BHASKAR NAIDU headed the Department as the First Civil Surgeon Specialist

In 1967 when DR.BHASKARNAIDU left for Australia ,Dr.JAMES PAUL again headed the department as a civil surgeon specialist .in 1970 Dr.James Paul was transferred to Guntur.

Then Dr.CV SUBBARAO became the First Professor of Anaesthesiology at kakinada and retired from service in 1975

Between 1975 and 1978, no civil surgeon was posted, The department was being managed by DR T GOPAL KRISHNA first in the capacity of an assistant surgeon and later in 1977 as deputy civil surgeon. During this years much difficulty was experienced in managing the department as the department did not have qualified anaesthetists a art From Dr.GOPAL KRISHNA.

It was during this period, the ANDHRAUNIVERSITY Post graduate commission visited RANGARAYA MEDICAL COLLEGE, Kakinada, to assess the feasibility of starting pg courses.

The first batch of 2 pg students one each for diploma and degree courses, joined the dept of anaesthesia in January 1978. DR.PREMALATHA KRISHNA Murthy was promoted and posted as Professor Of Anaesthesia at kakinada in 1978 ,on her return from England. when she left for vishakapatnam in august 1978, there was again a gap in the professorial post, subsequently DR M SREERAM worked as professor in kakinada from September 1978-dec 1978.again T DR.GOPAL KRISHNA headed the dept as Deputy Civil Surgeon.

He was later regularly promoted as Professor Of Anaesthesiology in december 1979.

In 1981 2nd unit of anaesthesiology was started and Dr.Asr Murthy joined as professor in June 1983 Dr.K.Harinath Babu took over as the head of the department of anaesthesia when T GOPAL KRISHNA was transferred to Kurnool, in September 1983 GOPAL KRISHNA again was posted as head of department of anaesthesia, which positioned he retain till his retirement in 1992.

In 1985, 3rd unit of anaesthesia was sanctioned and Dr. Asr Murthty joined again as professor. Between 1985-1987, Dr. DVK MENON was the hod.

1992 DR. P JAGGARAO Became The HOD And Later B RAGHAVENDRA RAO, DR. R RANGARAO, Dr.V HARINATH BABU, Dr. R PRATAP DR. A.SKAMESHEWARA RAO, headed the department, the present professor and HOD DR.B SOWBHAGYA LAKSHMI attend the posting in 2012, in 2010 MD anaesthesiology seats were increases from 3-6 along with 6 diploma seats

Total number MD seats are 12 in number again in 2016 MD seats were increased from 6-12 so the total number of seats now are 18 per year.

HOD and Faculty Details

Dr.B.Sowbhagya Lakshmi Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.T.Premsagar   Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.K.Vijayendra Babu Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.A.Vishnu Vardhan    Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.P.Krishna Prasad  AssosiateProfessor of Anesthesia
Dr.B.Vishnu Mahesh Babu Assosiate Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.Prasanna Kumar Assosiate Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.Vindhya K Assosiate Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.Y.Atchuth Ramaiah  Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.Shahedha Parveen   Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.B Sneha Latha   Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.M Rama Rao   Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.S Aruna Kumari AssistantProfessor of Anesthesia
Dr.K.Laxmana Rao Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.B Jalaja Praveena    Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.S Anal Kumar   Assistant Professor of Anesthesia
Dr.Lakshmi Naryana Sv Tutor
Dr.R.Satish Tutor
Dr.Harinath G  Tutor

NAME : Dr.B.Sowbhagya Lakshmi. M.D.PROFESSOR & HOD. Anaesthesiology. RMC. KAKINADA
Address :  Dr.B.Sowbhagya Lakshmi.  M.D.
          H.NO. 64-1-4/4.
          Durgaiah Thota. Pratap Nagar. KAKINADA.
          ResNO.2363806.  Cell No-98480 63806
Education  : MBBS -1980-1985 Rangaraya Medical College KAKINADA.
            MD -1988-1991    Rangaraya Medical College Kakinada.
Experience  : Asst .Prof  24-2-1993 to 24-5-1999  6Years 3 months.
              Asso. Prof   24-5-1999 to 17-9-2003,   4Years 4Months,
              PROFESSOR since 18-09-2003 to 31-10-2012 (12 yrs in various medical colleges, Guntur medical college, Tirupathy medical college, presently at RMC KAKINADA)
              HOD 01-11-2012 Tilldate.

Teaching facilites

Post graduate teaching programme:
  • Every day from 3-4pm
  • Every Monday and Friday case presentation by P.G’s
  • Every Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturdays seminars by P.G’s.

Academic Achievements

Quiz prizes :
  • First prize in Ap state conference 2017
  • First prize in CME quiz kakinada august 2017
  • Second prize in rajumundry CME quiz 2017
Paper presentations of post graduates since 2015:
  • 26 paper presentations across national and state conferences.
  • 38 publications in various journals by faculty and post graduates of anaesthesia since 2015.

Research Activities

Scientific activities:

Delivered lectures in various conferences like National, South zone and state conferences, also in Zonal CMES. MCI Inspector for the past Seven Years. Around twenty publications in National and International Journals and has been External Examiner to many Colleges out side AP

Interests :
  • To acquire better skills, knowledge and hands on experience in Neuro Anaesthesia and Pediatric Anaesthesia.
  • Having Norcotic license and running PAIN AND PALLIATIVE CLINIC in GGH (only PAIN CLINIC in the entire combined Andhrapradesh in government sector) for the last 7 years.

Research and desertations since 2015:
29 dissertation researches are going in the department by postgraduates since 2015.

New equipment